kopf-01 kopf-02 kopf-03 kopf-04 kopf-05 kopf-06 kopf-07 kopf-08 kopf-09 kopf-10 kopf-11 kopf-12

Ulaanbaatar

Gandan Monastery, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

Photos of Ulaanbaatar

The city of Ulaanbaatar was given its present-day name, which means "Red Hero" after the victory of the People's Revolution during the foundation of the Mongolian People's Republic. Over 1 million people live in Ulaanbaatar today. The capital city is also the economic centre of Mongolia.

The Gandan Monastery in Ulaanbaatar is one of the biggest Buddhist monasteries in Mongolia. Up to 1924, Ulaanbaatar was known as "Ikh Khuree", which means "Great Monastery". At the start of the 20th century, the Khuree contained twelwe big temples, and of the city's 50,000 inhabitants 13,000 were Buddhist monks.

Along with the Gandan Monastery, there are many other places worth visiting in Ulaanbaatar, such as the National History Museum, the former winter palace of Bogd Khan, the State Library, which houses an exhibition of valueble historical books, the Choijin Lama Temple Museum, the Museum of Fine Art, the National Museum and the Natsagdorj Museum.

Of cource, the Mongolian cuisine can be sampled in many restaurants in Ulaanbaatar, but there is also a wide range of foreign specialities to be found - even German beer gardens.

kopf-01 kopf-02 kopf-03 kopf-04 kopf-05 kopf-06 kopf-07 kopf-08 kopf-09 kopf-10 kopf-11 kopf-12

Ulaanbaatar

Gandan-Kloster, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolei

Fotos von Ulaanbaatar

Den heutigen Namen "Ulaanbaatar", was "Roter Held" bedeutet, erhielt die Stadt nach dem Sieg der Volksrevolution im Zuge der Gründung der Mongolischen Volksrepublik. Heute wohnen in Ulaanbaatar cirka 1 Million Menschen. Damit ist die Hauptstadt auch das wirtschaftliche Zentrum der Mongolei.

Das Gandan-Kloster in Ulaanbaatar ist eines der größten buddhistischen Klöster der Mongolei. Bis 1924 hieß Ulaanbaatar "Ich Churee", was so viel wie "Großes Kloster" heißt. Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts existierten im damaligen Churee zwölf große Tempelanlagen und von den 50000 Einwohnern der Stadt waren 13000 buddhistische Mönche.

Neben dem Gandan-Kloster kann man in Ulaanbaatar das Nationalhistorische Museum, den ehemaligen Winterpalast des Bogd Khan, die Staatsbibliothek, welche eine Ausstellung wertvoller historischer Bücher anbietet, das Tschojdschin-Lamyn-Klostermuseum, das Museum der Schönen Künste, das Stadtmuseum, das Nazagdordsch-Museum und vieles mehr besichtigen.

Natürlich kann man in Ulaanbaatar in vielen Restaurants die mongolische Küche probieren, aber es gibt auch alle möglichen ausländischen Spezialitäten - sogar deutsche Biergärten.